The Four Brookfields, Brookfield, West Brookfield, East Brookfield and North Brookfield, were originally part of the "Quaboag Plantation" chartered in 1660. The original settlement was on Foster's Hill in West Brookfield. In 1673, at the same time the first mail in North America was carried thru this area by post rider, the settlers changed the name to Brookefield.
For more information, refer to "A History of West Brookfield 1675-1990" by Jeffrey H Fiske
"Browse the Brookfields" is a group of area businesses whose goal is to promote the History and Beauty of the area to encourage tourism. Our group includes Restaurants, Shops, Destinations and Services. Members are listed below or visit our Map page to view our members locations.
The North Brookfield Townhouse
2017 members of
Browse the Brookfields:
The Fountain on West Brookfield Common
Check out our Facebook Page!
Browse the Brookfields members offer things such as Antiques, Banking, Books, Bowling, Clocks and Clock repair, Furniture, Gifts, Home and Garden Décor, Natural Groceries and good food at our Restaurants!
Take a Picturesque ride through the Brookfields of Central Massachusetts!