The Four Brookfields, Brookfield, West Brookfield, East Brookfield and North Brookfield, were originally part of the "Quaboag Plantation" chartered in 1660. The original settlement was on Foster's Hill in West Brookfield. In 1673, at the same time the first mail in North America was carried thru this area by post rider, the settlers changed the name to Brookefield.
For more information, refer to "A History of West Brookfield 1675-1990" by Jeffrey H Fiske
Member: Quaboag Hills Chamber of Commerce
Take a ride through the Picturesque
Brookfields of Central Massachusetts!
Quaboag Book Shop: formerly The Book Bear
80 West Main Street Open Wed-Sun 10-6
West brookfield, MA
508-867-8705 or toll free 877-809-2665
The Fountain on West Brookfield Common
Check out our Facebook Page!
2019 members of
Browse the Brookfields:
The 2019 Browse the Brookfields Brochure will be out soon!
Pick up the 2018 printing at one of our members or
view or print it here.
The North Brookfield Townhouse
"Browse the Brookfields" is a group of area businesses whose goal is to promote the History and Beauty of the area to encourage tourism. Our group includes Restaurants, Shops, Destinations and Services. Members are listed below or visit our Map page to view our members locations.
Browse the Brookfields members offer things such as Antiques, Banking, Books, Bowling, Clocks and Clock repair, Furniture, Gifts, Home and Garden Décor, Natural Groceries and good food at our Restaurants!